Call for Works

Announcing the New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival

July 16-22, 2018

The New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival solicits works for its festival in July 16-22, 2018. The festival will take place at the Abrons Arts Center. Details of the festival are shown below and are posted on our web site,

Call for Works

Submissions are now closed.

Composers or performers are invited to submit works in any style of electroacoustic music in any the following categories:

  • Electronic music for fixed media alone, with up to sixteen channels of sound.
  • Works involving live electronics, including computer processing and laptop orchestras.
  • Works combining musical instruments or voice with live or fixed media electronics.
  • Video and multimedia works.
  • Installations involving music or video,

Submission deadline: The submission deadline has been extended to January 31, 2018.

Submission fee: none.

Registration fee: $170. Registration is required for all persons whose submitted works are accepted. This fee entitles them to free admission to all events at the Festival. Attendance is not required, but even if persons submitting do not attend, the fee must still be paid.

Individuals may submit one or two works, provided that the second submission is six minutes or less. Individuals may also submit a proposal for an installation or a curated concert.

Works in progress will be considered if a substantial part of the work is complete. The accepted work cannot exceed the duration indicated at the time of submission, and the final versions cannot be substantially different from the versions submitted.

For the selection process, multichannel works may be submitted either in their original channel configuration or as stereo mixes.

Works involving instrumentalists are welcome, but if the submitter is unable to provide the performer(s), additional costs of $100 per performer will need to be charged. If NYCEMF needs to provide the performers, only works with no more than two performers can be considered.

NYCEMF will provide in each performance space a mixing console, speaker system, microphones, cables, and a computer and audio interface for the playback of fixed media audio/video. Composers of interactive works will be responsible for providing their own computer, audio interface, and any specialized peripherals.

Works of any length may be submitted, but, for practical reasons, we are more likely to be able to include shorter works than longer ones.

Performers may submit up to two works with the agreement that they will play them if selected. If a performer wishes to submit more works, he or she may choose to propose a curated concert.


The featured performers for NYCEMF 2018 will be flutist Gianni Trovalusci, cellist Madeleine Shapiro, pianists Keith Kirchoff and Jocelyn Ho, clarinet and tarogató player Esther Lamneck, violinist Maja Cerar, clarinetist Marianne Gythfeldt, and percussionist Patti Cudd.

3D Spatialization Lab

A special room will be equipped with an array of 16 speakers, 8 in the usual surround sound configuration and 8 at a higher level, allowing sound to be spatialized in three dimensions. The audience will be seated in the center of the space. We solicit works that will take advantage of these resources, and we encourage works that use the full 16-channel capability as well as the diffusion of works with fewer channels. We will allow composers whose works are played in this space additional tech time to plan their diffusion. Only fixed media works will be played in this space, not works involving musical instruments or video.

Curated Concerts

Proposals are also invited for the presentation of an entire concert, not to exceed 52 minutes in duration of music. These concerts represent an opportunity to put together an entire concert consisting of works of their choice. The concert should be organized around a theme or idea, and they may include works of historical importance as well as more recent works. A performer may also propose a concert that he or she will play. The only limitation is that no more than one work by an individual composer may be included.

NOTE: The registration fee for curated concerts will be $500.

Individual Presentations

In addition to musical works, we will also consider individual presentations that may consist of many different kinds of activities such as…

  • Paper and piece presentations.
  • Musicological discussions of electroacoustic music issues.
  • Analyses of compositions of historical importance including electroacoustic music “classics,” papers, or other ideas.
  • Research in electroacoustic musical topics.


Because the Abrons Arts Center will be devoting its galleries to other exhibitions, NYCEMF will have fewer options for installations than in the past. Installations may be presented as a day-long presentation in the Underground Theater, as wall projections, or in a confined space such as the dressing rooms.